*The low-FODMAP diet is NOT a gluten-free diet. It eliminates large amounts of fructans (FODMAPs) which are found in wheat, barley, and rye and products made from these grains. Read this post for more clarification:
If you have Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, Hashimoto’s Disease or Type 1 Diabetes and cannot have any gluten and are following the low-FODMAP diet, this post is for you.
Says expert, Expert Patsy Catsos, MS, RD: “Gluten-free diets are very popular right now for a wide variety of conditions. When you eliminate gluten, you also eliminate wheat products that contain fructans, one of the FODMAPS carbohydrates.”
For everyone else not needing to watch gluten intake – fructans and other FODMAPs, but NOT gluten are restricted on the Low FODMAP diet. You should aim to buy gluten-free grains (wheat-free). If you do not need to follow a gluten-free diet, check the Monash FODMAP app or my grocery list for which foods you can have in limited quantities (such as wheat pasta, which is low-FODMAP at a 1/2 cup). Researchers at Stanford University Medical Center say you “do not need to follow a 100% gluten-free diet as the focus is on FODMAPs, not gluten.” You can buy gluten-free grains made with low-FODMAPs: potato, quinoa, rice or corn and avoid gluten-free grains made with high FODMAPs. Also, gluten-free products are wheat-free and suitable for fructose malabsorption. Please still pay attention to possible fructose ingredients such as onion, honey, inulin and fruit.
So, back to the crowd of Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, Hashimoto’s Disease (me) and Type 1 Diabetes: Read this list to make sure you know which foods contain gluten.
As a refresher – what is gluten? It is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. People with Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity and some with Hashimoto’s Disease or Type 1 Diabetes should speak with their doctor about avoiding all foods that are made with these grains.
Here is where you will find GLUTEN:
All wheat-based flours and ingredients
- Wheat Bran
- Wheat Germ
- White Flour
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Durum Wheat
- Graham Flour
- Bread – instead try: gluten-free breads. Check out this article from the Huffington Post: The Best Gluten-Free Breads: Our Taste Test Results
- Cereals – instead try: gluten-free cereals, cornflakes, wheat-free muesli, porridge
- Cookies, cakes – instead try: gluten-free cakes and mixes and flour-less cakes
- Condiments, gravies, sauces – instead: make your own
- Couscous – instead try: buckwheat, polenta, millet, sorghum
- Flour Tortillas – instead try: corn tortillas
- Muffins, pastries – there are some gluten-free versions but make sure you know all of the ingredients!
- Pasta – instead try: gluten-free pasta, rice or pasta made from quinoa or rice
MORE Sources of GLUTEN:
- Beer – opt for wine or clear alcohols instead. Yes there are gluten-free beers, but beer should be avoided in general for anyone with digestive or inflammatory conditions.
- Broth in soups and bouillon cubes
- Candy – some more brands have been popping up lately, offering gluten-free candy. Read the labels as always!
- Fried foods – I stay away from fried foods anyhow. Fried foods can cause IBS symptoms and are also full of saturated fat, and build up from saturated fats, cholesterol and trans fats can cause hard deposits (plaque) to form in your arteries. Many fried foods are made with Canola Oil, a GMO product. “In it’s hybridized and modified state (Canola Oil) it can cause a large number of health issues.”
- Imitation fish
- Licorice – choose brands that do not contain wheat flour!
- Matzo has gluten, but there is hope for gluten-free brands like this one or this one.
- Meat – many lunch meats, hot dogs and sausages contain wheat gluten. As always when buying meat, buy organic! I happen to like the Applegate Farms brand.
- Modified Food Starch – ANYTHING modified should always be an automatic RED FLAG for you.
- Oats – buy gluten-free oats as most commercially grown oats can become contaminated during growing, harvesting or processing.
- Potato Chips (flavored) – some processed flavorings for potato chips contain wheat, barley or rye. Stay on track with a clean diet and avoid potato chips.
- Pickles – be wary of any pickles with malt vinegar or corn-based vinegar.
- Salad Dressing – for those following the Low Fodmap Diet, it’s best to make your own dressing with olive oil, low fodmap herbs and vinegar. If you find a dressing on the shelves that is not high in FODMAPs, make sure the dressing does not contain a thickening agent like modified food starch.
- Soy sauce – many contain wheat. If you’re going out for some sushi, keep a bottle of gluten-free soy sauce in your purse/bag!
- Veggie Burgers – I love veggie burgers but many contain wheat gluten. I checked out this recipe, it looks good but she does not list gluten-free oats or gluten-free soy sauce, so make the necessary changes: veggie burger recipe
Here’s to your health FODMAPers!
Love Us, Follow Us and Subscribe! Click on the links below: